The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.
4 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.
Chatham Historic Dockyard
Docking Station
A historic dockyard building is being converted into creative production and shared work space.
Structural topping out June 2026; opening forecast early 2027 · evidence dated 2026-06-29
Responsible body: Council, university and dockyard partners
What the source says: Topping out is a construction milestone, not an operating studio.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Docking Station topping out →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Connect the new studio to local learning and work →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
How to track delivery →Chatham town centre
The Paddock
A public space between the bus station and shopping centre has been renewed.
Completed and open · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Medway Council
What the source says: New planting, seating and access form part of the completed scheme.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
The Paddock completed public space →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Maintain the Paddock as a useful everyday space →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Gillingham town centre
Love Gillingham improvements
The local programme combines safety measures, cleaning, events and investment work.
Ongoing programme; council reports completed safety measures in 2026 · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Medway Council
What the source says: Activity and installed cameras do not by themselves prove a fall in crime.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Gillingham town-centre improvements →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Test whether Gillingham improvements address the problems →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target safety work where problems repeat →
How to track delivery →The Brook, Chatham
Brook car park housing proposal
A planned redevelopment would replace the car park with homes.
Closure announced for September 2026 ahead of redevelopment · evidence dated 2026-07-31
Responsible body: Medway Council
What the source says: The announcement does not confirm demolition or completed homes.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Brook car park redevelopment announcement →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Protect town-centre access during housing redevelopment →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →